Skip to Main

Historical Development

1911  Establishment of Delhi telephones system with manual exchange 

1926 Opening if 1st automatic exchange (Lothian exchange)

1937 Opening of Connaught Place exchange.

1945 First Manual Trunk exchange opened.

1950 Opening of Cantt exchange

1953 Tiz Hazari Exchange (Lothian exchange ceased working) commissioned.

1955 Secretariat exchange commissioned

1958 Karol Bagh exchange (SXS) commissioned.

1961 Jor Bagh exchange (SXS) commissioned.

1961 Shahadara exchange (SXS) commissioned.

1962 Opening of First STC service to Agra.

1963 Delhi Gate (27) exchange commissioned.

1964 Delhi telephone crosses 50,000 lines.

1966  Opening of exchanges at Nangloi, Narela, Najafgarh, Bahadurgarh and Ballabgarh.

1967 Rajpath (38) exchange commissioned

1968 1st X-Bar exchange (KB58) commissioned. X-Bar exchange (JB62) commissioned

1969 Trunk automatic exchange (TAX) commissioned

1970 Okhla X-Bar exchange commissioned.

1972 Opening of Idgah-I (51) Strowger exchange.

1972 X-Bar (31) Janpath-I exchange commissioned. Delhi telephones crosses 1 lac lines.

1973 Opening of X-Bar (67) Chanakya Puri exchange.

1975 X-Bar Janpath-IV (34) exchange commissioned. X-Bar Shahdara East (20) exchange commissioned. 

1976 Shakti Nagar (74) exchange commissioned. Idgah-II (52) X-Bar exchange inaugurated by Mr. Fakhuriddin Ali Ahmed, President of India, on 28.8.76 and presided over by Mr S.D. Sharma (Minister of Communications).
Opening of Shahdara East (20) Extension-I, X-Bar exchange on 31.8.76. It was inaugurated by Mr H.K.L Bhagat (Minister of State for Works & Housing) and Mr S.D. Sharma (Minister of Communications).
Opening of Hauz Khas (65) X-Bar exchange on 18.10.76. It was inaugurated by Mr S.D. Sharma (Minister of Communications) and presided over by Mr Radha Raman (Chief Executive Councillor, Delhi). 

1977 Opening of STD Service to Indore and Ambala on 5.10.77 by Mr Brij Lal Verma (Minister of Communications).

1978 Opening of Rajouri Garden-I (59) X-Bar exchange in Feb 78
Opening of Hauz Khas -II (66) X-Bar exchange on 15.2.78, by Mr Brij Lal Verma (Minister of Communications).
Opening of Janpath-V (35) X-Bar exchange.
Opening of Nehru Place (68) Strowger exchange on 4.11.78 by Mr Brij Lal Verma (Minister of Communications) and presided over by Mr R.K. Gupta (Mayor of Delhi).

1986 Creation of Mahanagar Telephones Nigam Limited

1986 First digital exchange world technology brought to India

1987 Largle Scale introduction of push button telephone made dialling easier.

1988 Phone Plus services multiplied benefits to telephone users.

1992 Voice Mail Service Introduced

1996 ISDN services introduced

1997 Wireless in Local loop introduced

1999 Internet services introduced.

2000 Millennium Telecom Limited, a wholly owned subsidary of MTNL is born

2001 Launched GSM Cellular Mobile service under the brand name Dolphin
Launched WLL Mobile services under the brand name Garuda.
The company listed at New York stock exchange(NYSE)
United telecom ltd.,MTNL Joint venture in Nepal,for providing WLL based services in Nepal became operational
CLI based Internet express services introduced.

2002 Launched pre-paid GSM Mobile services under the brand name Trump.Email on PSTN lines introduced under the brand name mtnlmail.

2003 Introduced CDMA 1x 2000 Technology under the brand name Garuda 1-x.Introduced pilot project of ADSL based Broadband services.Introduced Virtual Phone services.Mahanagar Telephone Mauritius Ltd. bagged second operator license in Mauritius.

2004 Expanded GSM & CDMA capacity by 800,000 lines each (total 1.6 million lines expanded) STD/ISD rates slashed by almost 60%. MTNL subsidiary MTML obtained license to provide fixed, mobile & ILD services in Mauritius. Launched Wi-Fi & digital certification services. State of the art training centre CETTM commissioned.

2005 Leading market in GSM customer additions. Launched broadband services under the brand name TRI BAND. Floated tender for 1 million 3G GSM lines.